Search engine - Cultural Heritage
Search engine
Search area on the map
Wybierz pozycje
<< less
Download attractions
Number of elements:

Search results

  • Cultural Heritage
    "In Niewiadom, one of the districts of Rybnik, we will find the coal mine ""Ignacy”, which is one of the oldest in Upper Silesia. It was built at the initiative of the Prussian minister, George Charles von Hoym, already in 1792. The coal mine under different names operated for over 200 years. In the twenty-first century, its surface buildings with equipment have been made available to the public. Two valuable, still operating steam engines of the winding tower are of particular intereSt The property is located on the Industrial Monuments Route of the Silesian voivodeship."
  • Cultural Heritage
    The workers’ colony in Czerwionka (part of the commune and town of Czerwionka-Leszczyny in the Rybnik district) is one of over two hundred such colonies in Silesia. It was built in the years 1899-1916 for the workers of the Dębieńsko mine. This interesting complex consists of 98 buildings, most of which are brick family houses of very interesting architecture. The colony is considered by historians as one of the most valuable settlement, and has been entered in the register of historic monuments.
  • Cultural Heritage
    The Rudy train station is located in the middle of the old narrow-gauge railway line between Gliwice and Racibórz. There is an open air railway museum, with a mile-long stretch of track (along which tourist trains run). It is an attraction on the Industrial Monuments Route. The narrow-gauge railway appeared in Rudy at the end of the nineteenth century. It was in March 1899 that “Kramer and Partners” opened a 23-kilometer railway line from Gliwice through Nieborowice to Rudy and Racibórz Płonia, and three months later, it started carrying passengers.
  • Cultural Heritage
    The village of Bieńkowice lies at the mouth of the Psina River into the Oder within the commune of Krzyżanowice on the road from Racibórz to Chałupki. The settlement was for the first time mentioned in 1283, but it may have existed a hundred years earlier. There are a few monuments, among them a private museum which is particularly worth visiting. It reminds of the local blacksmith traditions associated with the forge operating more than three hundred years ago. It was established by the Socha family in the second half of the seventeenth century